Odd Saturday

I got out of bed after 11 AM today. Admittedly, it was my second time getting out of bed for the day. I got up the first time around 7-something, had my breakfast and tea, read the paper, read tomorrow’s comics pages, and then went back to bed.

I can’t remember the last time I slept in that late.

For the past two weeks I have had a very strict Saturday routine: up and have breakfast before 7, so I can take my tea to my home office and work from 7 to noon on the courses I am taking. Then, start the laundry and eat lunch. Spend the rest of the day making sure the laundry gets done, doing various “neaten the house a little” tasks, fretting over the schoolwork I haven’t done yet, etc. Last weekend I had to include cooking our potluck contribution, showering and dressing, and making sure I knew where we were going and how long it would take to get there.

I feel like I OUGHT to have done that same routine today as well, minus the potluck business and replacing it with going to the English-Scottish Ball over at Swarthmore College (one of my favorite balls of the year, and not just because I am an alumna). However, this has been “one of those weeks.”

Final grades for the second marking period were due Wednesday, and I had a backlog of lab reports to grade. Plus I kept assigning work for my students to do and collecting that as well this week, plus I gave a test to three of my classes that I now have to grade. I had meetings after school on Wednesday and Thursday, an exam to take in one of the online graduate courses I’m taking this semester, a night event at school Thursday, and a meeting all day Friday. That meant I had to prepare lessons for Friday that a substitute could handle. So it was not a really good week for sleeping well or for sleeping 7-8 hours per night.

Today, I am relaxing. I am writing in this blog, drinking more tea (Romai Estate Assam TGFOP1, from Upton Tea Imports, a smooth and relaxing tea), not doing laundry (which means I’ll do it tomorrow), and procrastinating on my coursework for the week (but it will get done this weekend). I’m going to make pea soup for dinner, one of my all-time favorite foods, using my own adaptation of my mom’s recipe. I’m going to luxuriate in my shower, pamper myself with lotions and creams, and feel beautiful for the ball tonight. And I’m going to get a lot done tomorrow, I promise!

Mom’s Pea Soup (vegetarian adaptation by me)

1 package green or yellow split peas
1 onion, diced
“several” cloves garlic, minced
2 stalks celery, chopped
2 tsp “Better than Bouillon” vegetable base
2 qts water
dried dill
salt and pepper to taste
2 or 3 carrots, sliced

1. Look over peas and remove any stones or other foreign objects, rinse.
2. In a soup pot or dutch oven, combine peas, onion, garlic, celery, vegetable base, salt, pepper, and water. Sprinkle dill on the water until it mostly covers the surface of the water. Heat to boiling, then simmer for about an hour.
3. Add the carrots, adjust salt and pepper if necessary, and simmer another hour.
4. Remove lid from pot and continue cooking on medium-low heat (stirring occasionally) until the soup is the desired thickness.

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Odd Saturday”

  1. Heather Says:

    Have fun at the ball! :)

    I’ll bookmark you. and I’ll let you know when my own blog gets off the ground… if ever. Sigh. Something about kids climbing on me asking me to type M’s and R’s. Ah, well.

  2. Anne Says:

    This blog is a great idea!

  3. Woinam Says:

    Hi, Fran. How was the Ball?

  4. teawithbuzz Says:

    Hi everyone! Thanks for commenting!

    I had a great time at the ball, even though I only stayed for half. I got to dance with some old friends and some people I’d never met. I really love the combination of English and Scottish dances!

Leave a Reply

