I wish more Sundays were like this one

I really enjoy Sundays like today.  I caught the “early” commuter train to the city at 9:33 AM.  I put my headphones on and listened to the podcast of NPR’s On the Media, and graded some papers on the train.  Upon arriving, I bought a cup of tea and a scone from Au Bon Pain and found a quiet table where I could grade more papers.

When I finished my tea, I walked to church.  I haven’t been to church in months, and I’ve missed it!  Today’s sermon was taken from the words of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.  Our guest speaker, Reverend Chester McCall, spoke at times as himself and at times as King, applying King’s words to our modern times.  We were encouraged to call out “amen!” and “preach it!” which some of us were better at than others of us.  I am not much of a noisemaker at church, myself.

When it comes to King’s words, I always get choked up by that bit about

“He’s allowed me to go up to the mountain. And I’ve looked over. And I’ve seen the promised land. I may not get there with you. But I want you to know tonight, that we, as a people, will get to the promised land.”

That quote is from a speech he gave the day before he was assassinated, so you may have heard it recently as the 20th anniversary of that tragic day was last month.

I was also very glad to see good friends at church, and to give my opinions on our church financial situation to the president of the congregation.  I used to be on the finance committee, and I definitely have opinions about how we should be managing our budget!  Happily, several other members share my opinions and also spoke up, so I have some hope that together, we may have some influence on the final decision that is made by the board and the minister.

The weather today is very lovely: partly sunny and pleasantly warm.  I enjoyed my walk back to the train station and spent my return ride staring out the window listening to a Selected Shorts podcast instead of grading more papers.  Oh well, I have time this afternoon, along with finishing the laundry, studying for my final exam for my NCSU physics course, and planning the next week of lessons.  Yes! I WILL get it done!

Leave a Reply

