Probably Deadly

We came home from our trip to find a lonely cat, a lot of weeds in the garden, and some giant white mushrooms among the marigolds.

I pulled them all out and took some photos, and I poked about online to see if I could find out if I could of eaten them if I hadn’t put them all in the garbage.  Most sources say that if the gills are pale or white, don’t eat it!  Also, these don’t look like any photos of edible mushrooms I could find.  So I’m glad I followed the mushroom rule: if in doubt, DON’T EAT IT!

Here is another photo of a bunch of them next to my foot (size 6.5 wide) for scale.  Can anyone identify these?  I’d like to pin a name to them, if possible.

UPDATE: I found mycologist Tom Volk of the University of Wisconsin – LaCrosse online and sent him the link to these photos.  He thinks they are Chlorophyllum molybdites, which are definitely poisonous but generally not deadly.  See also this site.

4 Responses to “Probably Deadly”

  1. Hana Says:

    Do they turn reddish orange when bruised? My botanist friend says they might be lepiotas. (By the way, hi, I’m Jackie’s friend.)

  2. teawithbuzz Says:

    Hi Hana, nice to meet you! No, they just seem to stay white.

  3. Hana Says:

    Another question from the botanist (if you’re still curious…)

    Might need to know the spore color. Have your friend set a de-
    stalked cap on a piece of butcher paper for a couple of hours.
    Transmit the color of the gill-slice pattern that emerges

  4. teawithbuzz Says:

    Thanks again, Hana. I think I’ve got it. See the update above.

Leave a Reply

