Is there an entomologist in the house?

I ought to just take these photos to the biology teachers at school.  I know one of them is having his classes make insect collections.

This big insect was found dead, on the back deck:

It was white on the underside, and at least 4 cm long.  Is it a cicada?  Most of the cicadas I have seen in my life are the shed skins of cicadas, which are an amber-brown color.

Then last week there was this tiny insect in my office:

This one was at most, one centimeter long, counting the wings.  It walked slowly up my wall, so I had time to pull out my tripod and take the photo on maximum zoom.  Unfortunately, it is still fuzzy—I don’t have one of those non-jiggly remote-shutter thingies I used to have for my old SLR camera, and of course I jiggled the camera while pushing the button.  It was unavoidable.  Is it a baby praying mantis?  It looks a lot like a teeny praying mantis to me.

Is there an entomologist in the house?

3 Responses to “Is there an entomologist in the house?”

  1. Melissa R. Says:

    Will you take a gardener’s word instead? Those look to me like your guesses are correct: cicada and baby mantis, respectively. Mantises are often the subject of good stories, in my experience. Perhaps that’s just because they fascinate me, as I’d never met one in person till I moved to the northeast and started gardening.

  2. little sister Says:

    oh you’ve GOT to be kidding me! I found a dead praying mantis in MY living room only like a day or 2 ago. Freaky!!

    I took pics (yes, my first action was to find my camera). can I post pics in comments on your blog? probably not…

  3. little sister Says:

    well here are my pics anyway:

    and

Leave a Reply

