Celebration

This is Irmela.  She knew me from the day I was born, and attended my first birthday party and also my wedding three years ago (this photo was taken at the reception).  She had two grown daughters and a loving husband.  She loved her cats, collected frogs (not real frogs), and enjoyed art.  She made sure my dragon collection increased most years, and made sure Buzz got appropriately unbiased political information (Buzz was given both a catnip George W. Bush and a catnip Hillary Rodham Clinton.)

Irmela had a good sense of humor and was a good friend.  I hadn’t seen much of her lately, as my trips to visit my parents who live in Irmela’s part of the world have not been terribly frequent, but we did have dinner at her home a few years ago at Christmas when my husband and I drove out for a visit.

We heard Irmela was ill just a month and a half ago, and she succumbed last night to the cancer.  My heart goes out in deepest sympathy to her husband and her daughters, whose feeling of loss I cannot imagine.  Irmela was a wonderful person, and many will miss her.

I celebrate Irmela’s life; she touched thousands of students as a school librarian and made the world a better place.  I am glad to have known her, and I am so sorry she is gone.

One Response to “Celebration”

  1. teawithbuzz Says:

    Thank you all who have visited this page to read about Irmela. I just wanted to make sure you know that the memorial visitation with family present will be held at the Wood Funeral Home, 784 Main St., East Aurora on Thursday, November 13 from 4-8 PM. The Memorial Service will be held at Nativity Lutheran Church, 970 E. Main St., East Aurora on Friday, November 14 at 9:30 AM. In lieu of flowers, donations may be made to Roswell Park Cancer Institute and/or the Leukemia-Lymphoma Society in memory of Irmela.

    Thank you to the Buffalo News for this information.
    http://www.legacy.com/BuffaloNews/DeathNotices.asp?Page=LifeStory&PersonID=119700157

Leave a Reply

