Not a normal day

When I got up yesterday, it seemed like a normal day.  When I walked out the door, it still seemed pretty normal.  As I drove to school, it was clear that normalcy was no longer the state of the day.

As I drove to school, first, a few flakes of snow started falling.  The snowflakes got fluffier, quickly, and I enjoyed the Millenium-Falcon-transistions-to-hyperspace effect of the snowflakes in my headlights.  I don’t get to see that very often, and here it is still November!

Then, the snow started sticking to the ROAD.  whoa.

Traffic slowed a bit, and as I got closer to school the snow completely coated the road.  The main thoroughfare near school was merely wet, which was not surprising since there is a lot of traffic on it, but then I turned onto the road the school is on which is usually terrible in snowy weather.  The local salt crews leave it until late and it is moderately hilly.  Though it was snow-covered, it was fine.  Even when I pulled into the parking lot, I could see the lines well enough to pick a parking space and get in just fine.

I got into my classroom, pulled out some plasma demonstrations, found a big chart of the nuclides, and enjoyed watching the snow out the window, something I have ALWAYS enjoyed.  I happened to glance out the window at the parking lot at 7:20 AM, when teachers are required to be in school.  The faculty lot was still half empty, and my car looked like it had 2-3 inches of snow on it!

img_2190

Homeroom wound up being held over for 25 minutes beyond our normal dismissal time, first period was really short, and I managed to do only one of my plasma demos with that class.  All morning, students kept trickling into the building.  I had started a lab experiment with my third period class and one more student came in with a pass, saying he had been on his bus for two and a half hours!  One of the guidance counselors had been involved in a fender-bender with a student and a school bus, lots of kids reported passing multiple accidents and cars in ditches, and one of my colleagues took two hours to get to school.

I love snow.  It is very very unusual to have snow like this here in November.  Apparently this narrow band of heavy snow only across the county I live in and the county I teach in caught a lot of people by surprise, in addition to starting too late for a delayed opening to be called.  Even the accuweather website called for merely a cloudy morning, while also posting a late-breaking weather advisory for my school’s zip code a little after 7 AM.

By the time it was time to leave school, the roads were merely wet and the snow had melted off my car, but the district still canceled all extra-curricular activities after school as a belated precaution.

Odd day!

One Response to “Not a normal day”

  1. Doris Says:

    You might be interested to know that, here in Buffalo, NY, at the eastern end of Lake Erie, we did not get any snow to speak of. However, the snow that hit you in PA was actually the infamous “lake effect” snow created by cold winds blowing over warm lake waters which is frequently responsible for our significant snow events. A couple of feet of snow fell south of Erie County (where Bflo is located), and then the winds continued carrying their “gift” to you further south and east. Glad you didn’t have any trouble getting to and from school…the best kind of snow melts quickly, I think!

Leave a Reply

