Unfinished

bedsidebooksThis is the pile of books on my bedside table.  I have started reading all but two of them: Surfing Through Hyperspace and Genius.  Am I making progress on the pile over this mini-break for Thanksgiving?  No.  I picked up a novel I’ve read before, instead.

To be honest, Death in the Andes is hard to get into, and not particularly pleasant.  I have already read many of the stories collected in The Winds of Marble Arch (Connie Willis is one of my favorite authors, and I am eagerly awaiting the release of her novel All Clear next year.)  Physics of the Impossible and Krakatoa are fascinating and engrossing (yes, both!), and I go through little bursts of reading one or the other for several days over breakfast.  I haven’t picked up Driving Mr. Albert in over a year–both it and Krakatoa had used to live in the basement lavatory until I rescued them this summer, and I started back in on the one but not the other.  Guns, Germs, and Steel is something I keep meaning to get back to, but I feel like I ought to read some of the others first as it is a relatively recent addition to the pile.

I have in fact removed three books from the pile this past year, having finished them.

What’s on your bedside table (or equivalent)?  Which of these should I try to finish first?

7 Responses to “Unfinished”

  1. Phil Sharp Says:

    Yeah, I have a pile of books on my bedside table also. That’s actually what inspired me to start reading a book a week for the next year. So far I’m just finishing my third week, so I still have my work cut out for me. I’d love to recommend which of those books you should finish first, but I haven’t read any. Unfortunately (or fortunately), now I’ll have to read some of those books so I can let you know how they are :).

    http://www.fourbooksamonth.wordpress.com

  2. Doris Says:

    Now I see why you have to buy books instead of borrowing them from the library! How can you remember what any of them are about? At any rate, I’m glad you took some time to read (for relaxation!) over the break.

  3. Турок Says:

    Тема ну просто пиздец.
    Неужели ничего поактуальней не нашлось?

  4. teawithbuzz Says:

    I do manage to borrow from the library during the summer…but I always have to give some back unfinished.

  5. little sister Says:

    Lessee… I’ve got quite a pile on mine.

    I should start with: book 6 of the Death Gate Cycle, “Into the Labyrinth” is IN my bed, under the pillow on the side of the bed I don’t sleep on. That’s the book I try to read a little of every night before I go to sleep.

    On my bedstand is: “Illusions” by Richard Bach, “Rainbows End” by Vernor Vinge, “Children Playing Beneath a Statue of Hercules” which is a collection of short stories compiled by David Sedaris, “Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell” by Susanna Clark, “Dress Your Children in Corduroy and Denim” by David Sedaris, “State of Fear” by Michael Crichton, and “Sammy’s Hill” by Kristin Gore.

    On the further side of the bedstand which I tend to ignore anymore is a book about learning to code C++, my leatherbound compilation of all 5 Hitchhiker’s Guide books, and Trout Fishing in America.

  6. kpitter Says:

    OK.. I’ll tell you what’s in my pile
    1. “Shibumi” by Trevanian, 2. “The Tower and The Cloud” by Katz (it’s about higher ed and technology), 3. “Born Digital by Palfrey and Gasser, 4. “The Gate House” by Nelson DeMille, 4. “Scarpetta” by Patricia Cornwell and “Divine Justice” by Baldacci. I usually read one book a week.

  7. teawithbuzz Says:

    According to Google translator, the cyrillic comment above says:
    “The topic I just pizdets.
    Is nothing poaktualney not found?”
    I wonder what it ACTUALLY says…

Leave a Reply

