Cold

As in much of the Northern USA, it is cold here too this weekend, though when I checked the thermometer when I got up today it read 10 degrees (F) which is not that cold compared to say, Maine or Vermont.  I told my students that they should go out at night when it is coldest and blow bubbles, to see if they could get them to freeze, another tip picked up from the prolific Swans on Tea.  I hope some of them got it to work!  There are some awesome photos of frozen bubbles (they look like moons from Saturn!) on the site Swans on Tea linked to.

2 Responses to “Cold”

  1. little sister Says:

    It was 52 degrees F here earlier today, and 41 degrees F now.. and considering I’m starting my runs again for training for distance events next weekend I’m kinda glad.

    I don’t miss living in Madison, WI.

  2. Tom Says:

    I tried it, too, when the temperatures dropped to about that level, but they popped before freezing, even when surviving for several seconds. I suspect it needs to be below 0 and perhaps well below 0.

Leave a Reply

