Twenty

Yesterday I got up at 3 AM, and went to bed at 11 PM, so the title is the number of hours I was awake yesterday.  In my opinion, 20 hours is too many.

My team got all the way to the second semifinal round of the National Science Bowl, but wound up in third place.  It was pretty amazing to watch the competition.  My team was very good, but they lost to another VERY good team, from Brooklyn Tech.  The questions got progressively harder, and at the end were very challenging.  The kids were pretty disappointed at first, but perked up later after a spicy Mexican dinner in a hole-in-the-wall place.

img_2854

Most of us ate the mole, either green mole or red mole.  It came with rice and black beans, and was very spicy.  I didn’t eat most of the sauce, which was very spicy, until I tried dipping the fresh-out-of-the-fryer tortilla chips in the mole.  WOW.  It was a delicious burst of spicy happiness in my mouth each time I ate another chip with mole.  Seriously yummy.

I can’t believe I have another mega-day tomorrow.  I need some down time!  I think I will have to settle for early bedtimes on Tuesday and Wednesday, however.  I just need to finish tomorrow’s lesson plans for the substitute and take care of the last of the laundry, and I can go to bed tonight.

2 Responses to “Twenty”

  1. learnspanishamaya Says:

    20 hours seems to be my normal day lately. I’m always up marking something…

  2. teawithbuzz Says:

    Just to clarify, it was a regional qualifying match for the national event in April/May, in Washington DC.

Leave a Reply

