Proactive

My close, personal friends know that I have had some frustrations with my school district’s technology management in the past.  I will not enumerate my frustrations here.

In this first week of teacher workdays, which are scheduled before the start of the kids’ school year and called “inservice days,” my district has introduced us to several new software packages.  These replace other software packages that we will no longer be using for various reasons.

As a teacher who uses “technology” often both in class and outside of it, I can immediately see both advantages and disadvantages to the various new systems.  I can also see things that I have counted on being able to do for the past several years becoming impossible.

I am hoping to mend my past differences with the district technology management, and I am going to suggest that a teacher focus group or study committee or whatever the proper name would be, be established so that we can help the district determine how to help the classroom teachers most effectively use technology to accomplish their goals with students.  Right now, I don’t think that happens.

I really want a voice in this.

My beloved husband, who works in a university supporting professors in their technology use, considers that if he isn’t enabling his professors to accomplish what they want to, he is failing at his job.  I am hoping to be a voice that will help myself and my colleagues get the functionality we need within the means of the district.

Wish me luck!

5 Responses to “Proactive”

  1. Greg Says:

    I can imagine two approaches: an “advisory committee”, cross-discipline and with administrator and techie involvement, that looks at broader issues, and/or basically a “pilot” group… early adapters who agree to try out new technologies in exchange for having a voice in steering them.

  2. Melissa R Says:

    Go, go, go! Fight that good fight!

    We here in this education business of mine are struggling with a software release which is live to the public and flawed in significant ways in terms of usability, because we content-staff folks did not spend enough time in the early stages making sure the requirements list was correct, and did not spend enough time in later days testing things before the release. It boggles my mind to hear people saying “Oh, I thought they’d *know* how this worked in the old system, so they could make it work like that in the new system…” ::headdesk::

    You’re talking purchase and implementation rather than programming and implementation, but the communication flow is still a necessity, even if your techie folks think they know what’s best without it. I wish you all the best with this project.

  3. teawithbuzz Says:

    I started with a thank-you note to the district technology director, for responding to a request from the science teachers at the high schools to have a way to have secure online document sharing and discussion forums. We have that now! I hope she reacted favorably to the thank-you…we’ll see how this year plays out.

  4. Doris Says:

    You know I wish you success; hope your initiative is rewarding for you both professionally and personally. I know how frustrating you have found the technology (and communication with the tech administrators) in the past. This seems to be a non-confrontational, non-threatening approach to try.

  5. kpitter Says:

    Gosh… I love users like you. Your district technology person would be a “fool” not to take advantage.

Leave a Reply

