November

Normally, I love November.

I like the change in the weather, to chilly.  I like wearing sweaters, scarves, and hats.  I like watching the bright leaves escape the trees to form brown drifts in the sidewalk for shuffling crunchily through.

This year, I am not so happy.  Since the 3-day, I have been in a funk.  I feel behind on schoolwork, I feel behind on housework, I don’t think I ought to be turning 40 this month, and I feel really down.  I haven’t felt this blue in a really long time.

I am really glad I have been through this before.  I recognize this feeling.  I have a loving husband who has also noticed my mood.  So tomorrow I have a doctor appointment and I hope I will get some meds to help with this.  I actually spent several weeks this year getting OFF meds, and I thought I was doing pretty well.  I don’t know if it is the lessening of the sunlight, the sudden lack of exercise since I stopped walking so much, or just a stronger than usual school-year anxiety that is getting to me.  But I know I have to do something about it.

Meanwhile, I can get a hug from my husband, eat some chocolate, and pet the cat.  Tycho is on my lap purring right now, in fact!

2 Responses to “November”

  1. Keiko Says:

    I am sending you a hug as a starter

  2. Melissa R. Says:

    November’s over and done, and December passed in a whirl… How’s January starting to treat you? (Good to pass you in line at the Philly ball, btw–sorry we didn’t see more of each other.)

Leave a Reply

