I curl!

I’ve been curling regularly since 2014, except when I tore my left plantar fascia and was in a boot, and March 2020 to October 2021. In December of 2021, my team won the Pacific Northwest Region’s Women’s Playdown, and thus we qualified for USA Curling Club National Championships! We will be competing March 20-27 at Curl Mesabi, in Eveleth, MN.

Four people shown from the thighs up, wearing black pants and holding broom handles. From left to right: A person wearing a black shirt and unzipped black hoodie, red-framed glasses and a dark green hat; a person wearing a blue, orange, and white hockey sweater; a person wearing a blue vest with long green sleeves showing, glasses, and a blue and green striped beanie; and a person wearing a mint green jacket, glasses, and a black and red beanie. The background is mainly white, with some dark green on the left and some red and yellow on the right.
L to R: Mel, Sarah, Fran, Mary

That’s my team. Team Maywalt, for the purposes of competition, because our skip Sarah’s last name is Maywalt. I play vice (third), Mary plays second, and Mel plays lead. Not pictured is our alternate, Jen, who we added for our trip to Nationals.

I honestly never expected to be going to a national curling competition.

Anyway, please come here for updates on our travel, images of the Biggest Ball of Twine in Minnesota and the World’s Largest Free Standing Hockey Stick, game results, and if possible game streaming information so you can watch along!

Thank you!

3 thoughts on “I curl!

Leave a comment